The Amendments

The following are the Amendments to the Constitution. The first ten Amendments collectively are commonly known as the <u>Bill of Rights.</u>

Amendment I - Freedom of Religion, Press, Expression (1791) Amendment II - Right to Bear Arms (1791) Amendment III - Quartering of Soldiers (1791) Amendment IV - Search and Seizure (1791) Amendment V - Trial and Punishment, Compensation for Takings (1791) Amendment VI - Right to Speedy Trial, Confrontation of Witnesses (1791) Amendment VII - Trial by Jury in Civil Cases (1791) Amendment VIII - Cruel and Unusual Punishment (1791) Amendment IX – All Other Rights - Construction of Constitution (1791) Amendment X - Powers of the States and People (1791) Amendment XI - Judicial Limits (Suits Against a State) (1798) Amendment XII – Election of President, Vice-President (1804) Amendment XIII – Slavery Abolished (1865) Amendment XIV - Civil Rights - Citizenship Rights (1868) Amendment XV – Black Male Suffrage (1870) Amendment XVI - Income Taxes Authorized (1913) Amendment XVII – Direct Election of Senators (1913) Amendment XVIII - Prohibition - Liquor Abolished (1919) Amendment XIX - Women's Suffrage (1920) Amendment XX – "Lame-Duck", Presidential, Congressional Terms (1933) Amendment XXI – Prohibition Repealed (1933) Amendment XXII - Presidential Term Limits (1951) Amendment XXIII - Presidential vote for District of Columbia (1961) Amendment XXIV - Poll Tax Barred (1964) Amendment XXV - Presidential Disability and Succession (1967)

- Amendment XXVI 18 Years Old Voting Age (1971)
- Amendment XXVII Congressional Pay Increases (1992)